NonaTheNinja

Anything and Everything

June 26th 2006

Posted by NonaTheNinja on September 13, 2007

June 26th 2006 was the last time I wrote a personal note to myself and just myself.  After that on June 29th I got a Live Journal… Then I got a myspace….  Here is a quick part of the posting from June 26th:

Someone once told me, live your life for the present, forget the future, and learn from the past.  Mainly telling me that if you try to live for tomorrow you miss
today, if you forget the past you are destined to repeat it, and that
you should focus on each day one at a time.  Personally I think it was
some good advice, a little hard to follow sometimes though.

Interesting what you are thinking when no one else is around huh?  The question that always bugs me with how the internet has grown and bloggers have become huge is are we writing to sooth our souls and vent our frustrations of life like so many have done in the past with the hope of no one ever seeing the thoughts, only something to look back upon and remember?  Or are we writing with the hope that readers will come along, post, and talk about what we wrote?  Has this all just become another way for people to get attention?

Ever remember the simpler days when myspace and facebook, and livejournal didn’t exist?  If you wanted to post your thoughts you did it in a book with a lock on it and good hiding place.  Now everyone feels the need to express their right to freedom of speech and expression in hopes of becoming the next 15 min segment on cnn or the next Don Imus…. (If you don’t know who Don Imus is…. Google it).

Tonight I’m just wondering about the simpler times.  You didn’t write hoping people would read it, and talk to you about it, you wrote because you really just needed someone to listen who wasn’t really listening.  Someone who wouldn’t say anything and just let you vent.

Now with the internet so big, we sit here and listen to PODCasts that random people post, and how people put their lives on the internet for all to see.  Then it is these same people that bitch when their identity gets stolen, or then end up some victim in a stalker case or even worse.  Then they start exclaiming “Why did this happen to me…..” and they honestly have no clue.. It never reached their minds that during their quest for the 15 minutes of frame, some freak show could latch on and not let go.

People urge to express themselves so much nowadays, standing behind their right to expression and speech, yet half the people in the world can’t even tell you where that freedom came from or why we even have it.  If you don’t believe me, check out Jay Lenos “Street Talk” segments.

Not what I intended this post to be….  but hey thats what it turned into….. my good old right to free speech.

Leave a comment